Who have I in Heaven but you?

By the ridiculous Jonathan Edwards. If I can understand the Bible and love God an inkling of how he did, that would be awesome. The dude is…ah. I just bought a book of his sermons. I highly recommend.

“The redeemed have all their objective good in God. God himself is the great good which they are brought to the possession and enjoyment of by redemption. He is the highest good, and the sum of all that good which Christ purchased. God is the inheritance of the saints; he is the portion of their souls. God is their wealth and treasure, their food, their life, their dwelling place, their ornament and diadem, and their everlasting honor and glory. They have none in heaven but God; he is the great good which the redeemed are received to at death, and which they are to rise to at the end of the world. The Lord God, he is the light of the heavenly Jerusalem; and is the ‘river of the water of life’ that runs, and the tree of life that grows, ‘in the midst of the paradise of God’. The glorious excellencies and beauty of God will be what will forever entertain the minds of the saints, and the love of God will be their everlasting feast. The redeemed will indeed enjoy other things; they will enjoy the angels, and will enjoy one another; but that which they shall enjoy in the angels, or each other, or in anything else whatsoever, that will yield them delight and happiness, will be what will be seen of God in them.”

Man.

Examine your heart.

Ask this question. I know I probably have this incorporated into every blog I’ve written (haha), but, it’s just been weighing so heavy on my heart and has been so convicting to me in my life.

Do we love the gifts of God more than GOD? Is GOD our ultimate treasure? Do we delight in GOD in the ‘things of God’? Do we ask for things from God selfishly and not truly with “Hallowed be THY name” in our hearts?

Chew on this.

By asking God for his stuff; asking God for things to indulge our desires that are not desires for him, we are, as James puts it “adulteresses”. ” The picture is that God is our faithful, generous husband. So we go to him and ask for, say, fifty dollars, and he gives it to us. The we take and walk away from him and go to the end of the hall where our illicit lover has a room. ”

“God will not be a mere dispenser of gifts for those who have no delight in God himself.”-John Piper.

Do you ever get frustrated with your sinful flesh? How I long to live genuinely selflessly without abandon for the sake of Christ. I feel at times as though I am in a straightjacket, groaning to be let free.

“For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me.”

Freed from the condemnation of sin, sin nonetheless still dwells within me and it’s unbearable. I am constantly made aware of how far I fall short of the righteousness of God. So thankful that Jesus’ righteousness is counted as mine. Oh, blessed redeemer, Jesus Christ my Lord!

This made perfect sense in my brain a little while ago, but, I feel as though I’ve digressed. I think what I was trying to say is that it’s not EASY for us to lay down our pride and selfish desires and SOLELY desire GOD above all else. Sin dwells in is and so often we put ourselves above our God.

Thankfully Paul shows us in Romans that the means by which Christians are delivered daily from the indwelling power of sin is

1) by walking “not according to the flesh but according to the Spirit” (8:4)

2) by not “set[ting] their minds on the things of the flesh,but…on the things of the Spirit” (8:5)

3) by the indwelling presence of “the Spirit of God [who] dwells in you” (8:9, 11)

I’m so scatter brained right now. I don’t know if that made sense…but, my prayer for you, for me, and for all believers, is that we’ll keep our eyes focused on the REAL prize of our salvation…

God.

~Shara

Leave a Reply

