Wake Up.

Wake up, Shara.

I need to wake up.

As I was reading my Bible tonight, I highlighted this verse in the first Psalm …

“but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.”

The Psalm “stresses that those who would worship God genuinely must embrace his law”, not only obeying it and believing in it…but, loving it. I love this line in my footnotes, “the purpose is that those who sing the psalm will own its values–namely, they will want more and more to be people who love the Torah (the OT Law (first five books of the Bible), who believe it, who see themselves as the heirs and stewards of its story of redemption and hope…”

I know that I know a story of redemption and hope. The Gospel…the “good news”…the best news this sinner has ever heard. Sometimes I share the Gospel with myself to remind me of the power in it and the beauty and the grace.  But, do I savor it like I should? Do I meditate DAY and NIGHT  on the Word of God? Do I hunger for it? Crave it? Desire it above all else? Delight in it? Rejoice in it? Hope in it? Talk about it eagerly and constantly?

I don’t.

“Meditates describes an active pondering, perhaps even muttering to oneself in pursuit of insight.”

Day and night.

Oh, that the Word of God would be constantly on my mind. Oh, that I would be meditating on the grace and mercy and steadfast love and justice and wrath and faithfulness and words of Jesus Christ my Lord at all times.

I think about such trivial things. I think about friends and teachers and assignments and how tired I am and food and movies and me me me me me me me me me blah blah blah…oh, I pray that the things that are of God would be constantly on my mind and not the things of my flesh.

I need to wake up to the goodness and the glory of God.

I need to wake up to the treasure that is the Word.

I need to wake up to my new life in Christ.

I need to wake up to the millions upon millions of lost people in the world and all around me.

I need to wake up to compassion and patience and goodness and gentleness and self-sacrificing love and selflessness and servitude.

I need to wake up to this dying world and see it as that…and not something I want.

I need to wake up.

I have for far too long been content with being asleep and living in a dream world.

Wake up, Shara.

You’re nothing special, but, just look at the Bible…God loves to use nothing specials because it displays his glory even more.

God, I need you. I confess I am nothing without you. Fill me up. Pour me out. Use me. Change this sinner. Wake me up.

 

One thought on “Wake Up.

  1. This should be all of our prayer. I feel the same a lot of the time, it’s so easy to get caught up in the day to day things that are so temporary. So easy to get caught up in the “me”. There are so many things going on that mean so much more, eternal things. People suffering, people hurting, people thirsty for the truth. I agree about thirsting for Him more and more. Thirsting for His Word, all of it.

Leave a Reply

