The soul would have no rainbow had the eyes no tears. ~John Vance Cheney

I cry a lot.

Anyone who has ever spent any decent amount of time with me ( or not, ha)  knows that I’m, let’s just say,… easily emotionally moved.

Movies…Commercials…youtube videos…slide shows (ah, the worst)…tv shows…songs…magazine articles…someone talking to me about something sad…

Yeah, it’s bad.

I call them “Overactive Tear Ducts”.

One of the worst times was during an episode of “The Price is Right”. A person’s name was called, and I just started crying…he was so happy!

Over the course of this year, I’ve been praying for brokenness. I want to be completely broken over the sole fact that there are countless numbers of lost people in the world. I want to ache over the fact that a good portion of my family does not know Christ. I want to physically be sickened that there are people around the world who have never even heard of the name Jesus. I want to feel pain that the person sitting next to me in class, or someone I pass on the street doesn’t know the love and grace of Jesus Christ.

I want my heart to break for what breaks God’s heart.

I want to despise injustice from my innermost being. I want to hate human trafficking and poverty. I want these things to provoke vomit and wrath from my core.

Slowly but surely, as I pray for these things, God is, by His grace, allowing me to begin to feel this brokenness.

However

Though I’m feeling many things towards lostness and injustice, God is convicting me in my doing.

You see, it’s not just about how I feel towards all these things if I do nothing with those emotions.

Yes, God is breaking me for the lost.

So what?

What is that compelling me to do in response to that?

So God is breaking me towards injustice in the fallen world I’m living in. I’m desiring for God’s Kingdom here and now to the least of these.

So what?

So I buy a t-shirt and a pair of TOMS?

Not that those things are bad ( I am a lover of cause-wear. I confess. BUT NOT BECAUSE IT’S TRENDY! :))

 

What is it exactly that Christ compels us towards? What is our response to His grace? What is our response to His Great Commission? What is our response to the Gospel?

What is my response?

An emotion?

Tears of joy and Godly sorrow?

Okay.

But, what does that drive me to?

Action? or stagnation?

“But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves…But the one who looks into the perfect a, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but  doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.” James 1:22, 25

“For as the body apart from the spirit is dead, so also faith apart from works is dead.”

 

It’s not a bad thing to be brought to tears over things that grieve God’s heart. But, if I only grieve but not act, I am only deceiving myself and my faith is dead.

~Shara

One thought on “The soul would have no rainbow had the eyes no tears. ~John Vance Cheney

  1. First sermon i ever preached to a congregation, was over that James passage. Good memories.

    As i read this note i teared up a little…not really. Lame joke.

    But as i read this what kept coming up in my mind is Amos.

    If you might recall, in my hebrew class, i am translating the text of Amos. The text is constantly making me feel guilty.

    God’s chosen people were going through great lengths to show off their spirituality, mostly to the expense of those who were needy and poor.

    And it pissed God off….err i should probably say infuriated to the point that it culminated in chapter 5:21-27.

    Those things still happen today in Christ’s bride…and it breaks me….

    because i have been guilty of the same things, so i have struggled, and am still trying to figure out what i can do in all this injustice.

    in the only pair of toms shoes i bought…there was a Ghandi quote written all over em….”be the change you wish to see in this world.”

    i’ll be praying shara.

Leave a Reply

