The beginning.

Today, I graduated from college.

Crazy.

This day always seemed so far away.

I don’t think I’m who I thought I would be as young Shara imagining her future self. I don’t think I’m doing what I thought I’d be doing. I don’t think I’m as famous as I thought I’d be (haha!), and definitely not as beautiful as I thought I’d be. I’m not in a relationship and/or engaged/married to a smoking hott guy like I always thought I’d be. I’m not a famous ice skater, or a 3rd grade teacher (think Ms. Frizzle-esque), and I don’t have a girl group that got to tour with Plus One.

Nah, I don’t think I imagined my future college graduate self quite right. I don’t think I thought I’d still be awkward, crack only myself up, be man-less, and still have acne. I doubt I thought I’d be perfectly clueless as to my future, playing the upcoming year by ear, and trying my best to trust in the Lord for guidance and strength.

But, I’m okay with the actual Shara and not the imagined one.

I’m beyond thankful for the grace and mercy the Lord has lavished upon me over my life, most especially over this past year. I can’t believe it’s almost been a year since I began this blog. What a year it has been! I can honestly say I’ve been transformed by the powerful Word of God. It has pierced my soul, and thrown my world upside down. I am so blessed. I have come so far, but have so so so far to go.

The Lord’s faithfulness astounds me and humbles me. I am so unfaithful, yet He remains constant, loving, sure, and true. I don’t understand it. It is nothing short of a picture of my Heavenly Father’s love, for Him to, by His infinite mercy, love a whore like me.

Though this day marked the end of my college career (well, until I can find seminary money, if the Lord wills!), it really is only the beginning, the beginning of something great.

I’m not choosing the easy path, nor do I desire in any way to do so. I want in everything I say and do, now more than ever, in my post-college life, to be about the glory of God. My life is His. I’m picking up my cross and following after Jesus. I don’t know what that will entail in my life, but, I don’t care. He’s the only one worth living for. Jesus died for me that I might live, now I die to myself, and live for Him.

One of my favorite movie quotes is from A League of Their Own:

“It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard everyone would do it. The hard…is what makes it great.”

I don’t think my life will be easy…and I don’t want it to be. Living life contrary to fleshly desires and worldly temptations is not what I would call easy.

But, the hard…is what makes it great.

Happy graduation to those who have graduated today! May your lives be hard 🙂

Love,

Shara

“When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me.”-Erma Bombeck


2 thoughts on “The beginning.

  1. i feel ya, when i was little i wanted to be a ninja turtle. (Leonardo of course, though mikey was cool.)

    Then i grew up and more mature….and wanted to be a power ranger. (the ninja kind though)

    Then, i grew up and more mature…and wanted to be a famous film director…be rich, have a trophy wife.

    Then God was like (yes was like, not said), nope. You’re gonna hit the streets. Yaknow, where the money is.

    :/

    Every step He leads me, is just another adventure with more beginnings….pretty exciting huh?

    ps
    i would comment on your attactiveness, but me commenting on this is already weird enough.

    hah.

Leave a Reply

