Joshua 1:9

Here is a digital copy of my support letter. Above all, I value and treasure your prayers. If you would like to help me financially, I am selling (very) awesome t-shirts and accepting monetary gifts. Let me know if you’re interested in either/or.

-Shara

Dear Friends and Family,

 

I pray this letter finds you well. As I look back on the years and wonder where the time has gone, I think about how much I have changed. I’ve grown more in this past year than I have over the course of many years before. I want to share with you a small glimpse of my newly found heartbeat.

In January 2010, my church decided, over the course of the year, that we would read through God’s Word together. As I began to dive in, God began completely ruining my plans. Although terrifying, this was wonderful news. There was a word that God kept bringing up to me: nations. I couldn’t escape it. It was everywhere.  Along with countless other verses in scripture, Psalm 67 rocked me: “May God be gracious to us and bless us and make His face to shine upon us, that Your way may be known on earth, Your saving power among the nations.”

Wow! Did you catch that? The first verse is a blessing you may have heard before. However, it has a purpose tagged to the end: May God be gracious to us and bless us SO THAT ALL the nations may know Him. I am blessed so that the nations might know God.

Missions has always been one of those things I thought was awesome for “other people”. Whoa, has my perspective changed! Jesus commands us, not suggests that we take the Gospel to all peoples (Matt. 28:19-20) and to bring God’s glory to ALL the nations. It’s what we’re made for. God is infinitely worthy of every person’s worship, and we must go to the nations to make His glory known to them.

There are 6.7 billion people in the world. More than 2 billion people are currently classified as “unreached” and “unengaged”, with little to no access to the Gospel. For these people, almost every one of them lives and dies without ever hearing the Gospel. In Hudson Taylor’s (missionary to China) biography, he writes of a conversation with a recent Chinese convert. The man asked Taylor how long he’d known “the Glad Tidings” (i.e. the Gospel). Taylor was embarrassed to say, but responded that it had been several hundreds of years. The man replied, “What??…Several hundreds of years!…Is it possible that you have known about Jesus for so long, and only now have come to tell us? My father sought the truth for more than twenty years, and died without finding it. Oh, why did you not come sooner?” As Carl F. H. Henry wrote, “The Gospel is only good news if it gets there on time.”

In light of this, on July 20, I will be boarding a plane for South Asia to invest my life for six months. The area I’m going to is limited access and highly restricted so for security and safety purposes I will not be able to tell you the exact city and country where I will be. It is technically illegal for me to be a “missionary” and I must be discreet in what I say and how I say it.  In most instances, when a foreigner is accused of breaking the law by sharing the gospel or holding Bible studies, he will be forced to leave the country for a number of years.  The real harm is done to those nationals who have associated with him/her.  They may lose their jobs, face serious punishment, and even lose their lives.  Let us protect the people, positions and opportunities the Lord has entrusted to me.

I thank God for this opportunity and trust He will meet my needs. My prayer is that He will do that through you. I would be honored if you would partner financially and prayerfully with me. I must raise $3500 that goes directly to cover all my expenses while on the field.

Please make checks payable to Shara Lewis. My address is (removed for online security purposes)

I am completely inadequate for this, but, God is so adequate and thankfully He chooses to use insignificant people like me to bring Him glory despite myself. I ask for your prayers as I take this leap of faith.

Love Always, Shara Lewis

 

“Missions is not the ultimate goal of the Church. Worship is. Missions exists because worship doesn’t.” John Piper

One thought on “Joshua 1:9

Leave a Reply

