Cows, and vomit, and rupees, oh my!

I know they tell you that cows are everywhere here, but, it still catches me off guard.

Also, in my city, goats are everywhere. Like everywhere. They’re just walking down the street…looking for some grass…pooping as they go…sleeping here and there. You know, just chillin.

This city is more chill than the last one. There are actually moments of…dare I say it,…silence?? Or maybe just SA’s version of silence…or perhaps just actual literal moments of silence. But, either way, it’s kind of nice.

Ashlyn and I are staying at the office until Thursday when we’ll move into our cool pink flat with two other ladies. I can’t wait. I just want to fully unpack, and not live out of a messy suitcase anymore.

Apparently, cold drinks are an American thing. When it’s 5 billion degrees outside and someone hands you a cup of boiling hot tea & room temperature water, resist the urge to cry…just drink it & try to think happy thoughts of Antarctica and polar bears.

We went to a national family’s home for dinner the other night. They were beyond kind and hospitable. Their son is a rockstar. Literally. His band made it to the top FIVE in this entire COUNTRY in some contest. The band was practicing, so we were serenaded as we dined. I made the mistake of telling them my major in college, and they kept asking me to sing with him. No, no no…I’ll let the famous SA sing. He asked me what type of songs I usually sang, and I told him “Broadway” or “Classical”. He said he knew some Broadway songs his teacher made him sing and started singing/playing on the guitar “I Don’t Know How to Love Him” from Jesus Christ Superstar…bahaha. I just had to sing that song last year in my voice class. It was so funny. I asked him if his voice teacher let him change the lyrics since he is a…boy…he just started cracking up and was like, “NO! How awkward! He always made me sing girl songs!”

Although I complained many a time about my repertoire, Dr. Richardson never made me sing boy songs…so, thanks, Randall 🙂

I also had that really awkward moment at dinner that night when I thought I’d be cultural and eat with my hands, and EVERY ONE else (including Nationals) ate with forks…er…uh…yeah…

A note on that, eating with your hands sounds really cool…and it is…for about 30 seconds.

Well, that night, I went to bed not feeling too hot, and I woke up a few hours later and proceeded to “Get rid of” (put nicely) every single possible content of my stomach. I have never been that sick in my life. I will spare you details…it’s become commonplace to talk about all of our bodily movements…but, you probably don’t want to know about it. If you do, just ask. (…weirdo…)

I spent the next 24 hours in bed. I couldn’t move. It all hurt. My world was spinning. I remember falling asleep on the bathroom floor at some point, being so so tired, but, not having the strength to walk to my bed & getting sick repeatedly from all angles (eww, Sharaaaa) at any given moment, crying, praying, falling on the bedroom floor trying to walk to my bed, and…singing “Lord, you are good and your mercy endureith forever” over and over…between puking my brains out.

It was so much fun, y’all. Sad you missed it!!

🙂

Our auto got lost today when we asked him to take us to “Pantaloons” ( i know, best name ever) today. It’s apparently this part of the world’s Target. It was unfortunate. Maybe next time.

Oh, something that is hard to get used to. Men hold hands/pinkys…stick their hands in each other’s back pockets. No joke. Talk about man love.

Start language intensive learnage fun tomorrow. Bring it on! I love saying a few phrases and words here and there to women. It completely catches them off guard. I would act it out for you, but, you can’t see me…so, I’ll act it out for you in December.

The rupee is about 50:1-ish so, it’s taking some getting used to…I have to keep converting in me head so I don’t wig out when someone is like “100!” …relax, it’s just $2.

Also, I’ve been a cheater  (because one can only eat rice and dal SO many times) and have eaten some pretty good Western-y foods here. We need to get the hang of restaurants. We’re making discoveries though. They’re mostly family-style…so, they look at us really weird when we order separately & then, they serve each person food from everyone’s dish. Which…I kinda love, because then I get to try everyone’s, hehe.

This is already wayy long, so, I’ll leave writing about my specific job until the next time. It’s so cool. I’m so excited. I’m writing a lot down in a journal so, I won’t forget random things so, I will be able to share a lot more when I get back.

I started reading through Romans today. I could write an entire blog on what I just read today in relation to everything…but, I’ll save that…because, again, this is long.

I read the last part of 2 Peter yesterday.

“But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the L one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. The L is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all reach repentance.” 3:8-9

Though as Cs, we long for the day when He comes back, I am overwhelmed by His patience. Such patience He has shown to the people of this city, and so much patience He has shown towards me…teaching me, breaking me, growing me, preparing me to come here…and, no doubt, patient with me THROUGH my time here…it’s overwhelming to me. He is so merciful. As long as there is still today, there is still a chance He has opened up for more to come to Him. To turn from death to life. He doesn’t have to…but, He does. And, that is so cool.

Alrighty, left over Chinese food time. Girls have a strict curfew by our company and less freedom on this side of the world…which is why I’m on the internet while the boys get to go make friends. Boo. Ah, well, it’s all good. 🙂 I might come back a starch feminist though…ha, doubt it.

Love Always,

shara

One thought on “Cows, and vomit, and rupees, oh my!

  1. Caught up on all your adventures thus far via blog! So excited for you! You have experienced so much and I know that the Father is teaching, molding, refining, and loving you into a purer and more fantastic vessel for His great name and glory! Praise be to His great name! Lifting you and your people up this morning!

Leave a Reply

