When I don’t understand Your perfect plan, I will trust in You my God.

image

“Diary of a Wimpy Chick”

Yeah.

Still rings true.

I’m a wimp.

I thought that boarding a plane to travel across the globe was scary…but, my stomach twists and turns when I think about what’s going to happen in just a few weeks…that is, boarding a plane that is going to take me home.

In July, I headed across the world to experience the great unknown. In December, I will head back across the world to the greatest unknown to date…the rest of my life.

I would be dishonest if I said I was not afraid.

Should I be afraid? No. My Father in Heaven is sovereign. “[His] eyes saw my unformed substance; in [His] book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.”

He knows every step I will take. He knows every detail about every instance that will every happen to me.

Fear is unbelief.

The root cause of anxiety is inadequate faith in our Father’s future grace.

My faith is so small.

My journal is riddled with endless amounts of passages and verses about trusting in the Lord.

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, whose trust is the LORD. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green; and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8

 

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid.” Psalm 56:3-4

I know everything will be fine; more than fine. As I have written so often before, God is my Father, and He will not allow anything to happen to me that is not ultimately for my good and for His glory. (Rom. 8:28-30) It may not be my idea of what’s best for me, but, that doesn’t make the statement above any less true.

As I was preparing to teach another story, the Lord graciously led me to a well-known story that will never lose its power.

“And Peter answered him, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.” He said, “Come.” So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.” Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased. And those in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

Matthew 14:28-33

I was brought to tears as I read.

Vs. 27- “Take HEART; IT IS I. Do NOT BE AFRAID.”

“It IS I”—Greek EGŌ EIMI, LIT. “I AM”. May RECALL Yahweh’s VOICE FROM THE BURNING BUSH (Ex. 3:14), WHICH WHEN SPOKEN NOW BY Jesus PROVIDES ASSURANCE TO THE DISCIPLES OF THE Lord’s PRESENCE IN THEIR MIDST AS Savior.” (Isa. 43:10-13)

I heard…

“Oh, Shara, how little is your faith. Why do you doubt? I’m not going to let you drown. Have I ever? When you go home it will be no different. Next year will be no different. Keep your eyes on Me, though the winds and the waves roar. Seek first the Kingdom of God and his righteousness. Run from the deceitfulness of sin and run to the promises and truth of the One who made you. I love you. My hand is right here for you to hold onto. I’m not going to let you go. Have faith in me, my child. I won’t let you go.”

Oh, Father God, I desperately need You to help me trust You. I am selfish and wish to trust in my own wisdom, and not the infinite and sovereign wisdom of my King. Forgive me, Lord, my impatience and lack of trust in You. You aren’t going to let me go. You will be with me every step of the way. I have no idea where I will be a year from now…but You do. Help me to place my faith in future grace. Help me to know what it truly means to trust You with all my heart and lean not on my own understanding. You will make my path straight. I resolve that You are good.

 

-Shara

image

Leave a Reply

