Meanderings.

image

“Does it make sense to pray for guidance about the future if we are not obeying in the thing that lies before us today? How many momentous events in Scripture depended on one person’s seemingly small act of obedience! Rest assured: Do what God tells you to do now, and, depend upon it, you will be shown what to do next.” 
― Elisabeth Elliot

I know I rarely have anything of any extreme importance and or wisdom or intellect to share on my blog, but, at times I feel I simply must write for the sake of sanity, and, perhaps, someone may benefit in some way shape or form from my meanderings. 

I know I seem to always write the same thing with a different title, but, what’s going on in my life is…well, a lot of the same thing. 

The “Silent Years” per say. The years I cried out and wondered if He even hears me. Surely, He does (Isaiah 59:1). The years the Lord has closed all the doors I wanted to be opened, and opened all the doors I desperately wanted to be closed. The years I have felt the most alone and abandoned. Albeit the years I have never been alone or abandoned (Matt 28:20). 

I’ve been having a really hard time lately. My plans have again been thwarted. I feel stuck. There really is no other word I can think of to describe it. Stuck. Stuck with no idea how to get out. 

As I have been praying to the Lord, the same thing keeps coming to mind: today. 

Today. 

Each day I wake up, the Lord has given me that day. He didn’t have to, but, I was given that day, and as a follower of Christ, I am to be obedient that day. I cannot be obedient for the next day and I cannot be obedient for the previous day. 

Be faithful today. 

Be obedient today.

Stop worrying about tomorrow (Matt 6:25-34). 

God is sovereign. 

And, it will all be okay. Yes, it might not resemble in any way, shape, or form, my idea of what “okay” should look like…but, it will  be okay. 

He has not abandoned me. And He has not abandoned you. 

“God never witholds from His child that which His love and wisdom call good. God’s refusals are always merciful — “severe mercies” at times but mercies all the same. God never denies us our hearts desire except to give us something better.” 
― Elisabeth Elliot

I pray that I will be faithful and obedient in the everyday tasks of every day. That I will glorify God in waking up, making lattes, doing laundry, walking the dog, doing my homework…That I will not waste away my days pitifully and selfishly upset about the cards I have been dealt, but that I will find my deepest satisfaction and my ultimate joy in my never changing, gracious God. 

 

“God is God. Because he is God, He is worthy of my trust and obedience. I will find rest nowhere but in His holy will that is unspeakably beyond my largest notions of what he is up to.” 
―Elisabeth Elliot

 

Yeah, sorry, it was an Elisabeth Elliot kind of night 🙂 

 

-Shara

 

 

One thought on “Meanderings.

  1. Let tomorrow worry about itself and give to God in every moment that He gives you! He never forsakes us and never fails. Thanks to His perfect grace, you are a shining light for whom he has such plans—even if it seems it is just to live and love and walk with him.

Leave a Reply

