Singleness & Psalm 23.

Purchase this image at http://www.stocksy.com/90467

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

    He makes me lie down in green pastures.

He leads me beside still waters.

    He restores my soul.

He leads me in paths of righteousness

    for his name’s sake. 

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

 I will fear no evil, for you are with me;

 your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me

in the presence of my enemies,

you anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,

and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Today I remembered one of my favorite sermons by David Platt (I know, how can you possibly choose a favorite?). It’s a sermon on Psalm 23 found here. I encourage you to listen/watch it. The first time I heard the sermon I was sitting in a pew in Brook Hills.  The second time I listened to it, I was lying in my bed, struggling to sit up, and fighting to endure my battle with debilitating chronic illness. The third time, I was sitting in my bed again–this time with a broken heart.

Tears fell as I let the words sink in to every shattered crevice of my aching heart.

After I listened, I went back and prayed through my notes. And, as I was praying, specific fears I have stood out to me. Many of which I have wrestled with and continue to wrestle with on a daily basis.

But then those fears were, graciously, met with truths. 

In my singleness,

I never have to fear ending up alone.

The LORD is with me. I will never be alone. 

I often fear that. Ending up alone. The lonely old maid who no one wanted. But I can’t ever be alone. It is impossible. I will never be alone. My Shepherd is always with me. He has promised me Himself. He will be with me until the very end. I will never be forsaken. He will always be holding my hand–and, at times, crawling along beside me, offering His strength and His presence.

I never have to fear never being loved. 

The LORD loves me perfectly. Always. 

My heart often yearns to be loved by a man. I want to be romanced, desired, and cherished. But, if I never experience that kind of love, I will never not be loved. I am constantly and perfectly loved by the God of the universe. I often long for the intimacy experienced by a husband and wife. I might never know that. But I am known by God. He knows me. He cares about me. He loves me. And He is intimately aware of every detail of my life. I am His treasure. I am fully known and fully loved by Him. And His love will never fail me.

I never have to fear never (again) being pursued. 

The LORD will relentlessly pursue  me all the days of my life. 

Women so strongly desire to be pursued. I got a taste of relentless pursuit. But it was short-lived. And it was dishonest. God’s pursuit of us is not like that. He actively pursues. It is a constant pursuit that has no end. He will never tire of His pursuit. He will pursue with goodness and mercy all the days of my life. No matter what I do, no matter how faithless I am, He will never stop pursuing me with His love.

I never have to fear not being provided for. 

The LORD will satisfy. The LORD will provide my every need. I shall never want. 

The LORD is my Shepherd, I shall not want. My God will supply all my needs according to His riches in glory. He will satisfy my deepest longings–which are all really for Him. With Him, I have everything I need. With Him, I shall never lack.

I never have to fear living with a shattered heart. 

The LORD will restore that which has been broken. He will heal what has been used and thrown away. 

By His grace, He will continually refresh me. He will lead me beside still waters. By His grace, He will restore me. And, in time, He will heal what has been broken. He will not leave me in shattered pieces forever. And He delights in restoration.

To the praise of His glorious grace.

I never have to fear that it will come to an end. 

The LORD’s goodness to me is eternal. 

The Good Shepherd laid down His life for me. And He picked it up three days later. Because of this, I know that His love for me will never come to an end. He will never end His relationship with me. He will never change His mind, trade me in, or find someone new or better. His goodness to me is eternal, and my fellowship with Him will be everlasting. And one day, He will personally wipe away every tear from my eyes. There will be no more pain or suffering anymore. And I will dwell with Him forever.

 

 

I may never marry. I feel that I most likely will not. But, for however long I am single–whether 5 years, 50, or until the day I die, I will never want for anything. In Christ, I have been given everything. Everything I will never deserve. May I fix my eyes on Him–the Shepherd who will never leave me. The Shepherd who loves me. The Shepherd who pursues me. The Shepherd who provides for me. The Shepherd who restores me. The Shepherd who gave His life for me.

The Shepherd who satisfies.

In my singleness, I shall never want.

 

 

 

 

The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.

images-9

Leave a Reply

